Battle of the bulge

Some of you who are on beaut.ie will know about my efforts to loose a bit of weight and tone up and get fit and all those virtuous things which should be easier than they are but are just not 😦

 

So I was out for dinner last night with friends and I managed to get my first wear out of a french connection dress I bought a few months ago but didn’t quite fit into, don’t get me wrong, it’s still a bit snug but at least it fits which is a bonus!

People will probably disagree with me but over the past week or so in an effort to curb my wandering taste buds and their sidekick my spare tyre, I’ve started to dust off my shapewear a bit more.  While I’m working anyway it’s definitely a help – it just makes me aware I can’t stuff myself and in a weird way it’s quite motivating.

 

I might not be there, but i feel encouraged.  I’m still hating spin class so I’m going to try another gym to see if that makes any difference as well as maybe bikrim yoga too with a friend of mine over the next few weeks.  I see the benefit of spin but my asthma is making it tough and let’s face it, despite it being Octover it’s still depressingly humid.

5 thoughts on “Battle of the bulge

  1. There’s no point in doing the spinning if you really hate it hun. Life’s too short to torture yourself. I find if I’m craving something sweet I have a diet coke. Now I know a lot of people will disagree with this, because of the sweeteners etc, but it works for me! And keeping a food diary.

    1. You’re probably right but I think I until I discover something that’s a bit more me I will keep it up for awhile longer. I couldn’t even say its love hate. It’s hate hate!! But it is effective. And I prefer it to going chomping down on protein bars

  2. I wasn’t a huge fan of spinnin in Sweat Aine, too hardcore for me and I’m not that serious about it.. i do enjoy spinning in general but I’ve been swayed to other classes of late, bootcamp & Circuit classes.. Boxercise is next on my to try list.
    Pilates and Yoga didnt suit me! I’m not near the toning stages so they’re not for me at the moment.. i used to love step aerobics until i had back trouble!!!
    You’ll just need to try a few different exercises and see what suits you.. Everyones different…. but getting up off the couch is defo the way forward 🙂
    I think shapewear shows you where you want to get you and gives you an idea of your new shape… nothing wrong with a bit of sucking in at times 🙂

    Peanut Butter on Apple slices is my healthy snack after a class! i’m always starving after a work out!!

    1. I like it because I see the results but I get bored and then my asthma kicks up, having said that I just do what I can (well top end of what I can) and am trying to work it up from there but you could be right.

      Ultimately my issue with Sweat was exacerbated by the meeting with the weight loss consultant (I think you were on hols actually) which upset me and definitely didn’t motivate me at all. So I’m going to start Bikram which a friend swears by, keep with the food, the odd spin class and well spanx as well to remind me not to snack. Weirdly I think it’s working for me but it’s slow. Granted the weight didn’t go on over night so it’s not going to come off over night either.

      1. Apologies for the delay in getting back to you!!!! i nodded along to your above comment.
        you’ve defo got the right attitude and your being sensible and realistic about it too.
        i missed what happened with the weight loss consultant, I refused to see their people, i’m guessing they were pushing their regime on you for a crazy price?
        Food is 70% of the battle and exercise its toning friend..
        keep doin what your doin 🙂

Leave a comment